Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Black and White photo of police station
The City of Bay City, the county seat of Matagorda County, is located at the junction of State Highways 35 and 60, along the Gulf Coast, ninety miles southwest of Houston, Texas. Incorporated in 1902 with a population of 2,000, today the city limits expand to include more than six square miles and is the home of 20,000 citizens.
Sepia toned photo of Police Force
In 1902, Bay City’s first City Marshal was Moss A. Williams who won the election with 54 votes and was presented with a certificate showing he was Marshal. His additional duties included City Scavenger, Street Commissioner, and ex-officio for City Health Officer and City Inspector.

From 1902 to 1951, nine Marshals served the City of Bay City. Frank Carr served the longest term from 1928-1948. In 1949 Lewis Henry Lawrence, also know as LH Lawrence, was elected City Marshal. He served until 1951. On April 12, 1951, Lawrence was appointed by City Council as the first Chief of Police of Bay City and served until his death in 1953. From 1953 through 2007, there have been four appointed Chief of Police who have served the City of Bay City.
Police Chief Portrait photo
May 27, 2007, Roger A. Barker took office as Chief of Police. Chief Barker brings to the department 33 years of law enforcement experience and strong leadership abilities. Presently, the department employs 41 certified officers and 22 support staff.

As those who have served before us and laid the foundation for our department, we strive to protect and serve our community with the utmost respect and integrity. We will continue to grow with the ever-changing world and technology and stand united to protect those who cannot protect themselves.